Customer reviews

Read open and honest feedback, from the people who know us best.

Independent feedback, provided by Feefo

We’re serious about taking your feedback on board. In fact, we’ve written up the Simply Business Manifesto, based on the thoughts and concerns of our customers. Your experiences are very important, as they help us get better, month on month.

Our feedback is pulled together by Feefo, the independent business review magicians. Good, bad or downright on the fence, your opinions are publicly displayed on their site, and used to calculate our customer service score.

Want to leave feedback, but not on Feefo? That’s fine – please drop a few words to our customer service team, or get in contact on our social channels.

Read all our reviews

What are people saying?

3:00PM - 20 January 2017
Professional
Excellent

Very helpful!

2:13PM - 20 January 2017
Landlord
Good

It would be that bit better if they would include a property address on landlord renewal notices rather than just a policy number.

11:25AM - 20 January 2017
Business
Excellent

Very good communication, phone is answered quickly and the information
provided clear and concise.

11:01AM - 20 January 2017
Business
Good

Nice and clear easy to use and quick.

10:21AM - 20 January 2017
Business
Good

I emailed with a query but got no reply. The automatic renewal activated so was too late anyway, but will think twice about renewal next year
Ian

10:10AM - 20 January 2017
Landlord
Good

Wording of E Mail sent after renewal is confusing, was told to ignore it obviously a known problem so why not just change it ?
Also renewal request with premium details not received, and not resent when requested.

9:33AM - 20 January 2017
Business
Excellent

Easy website. Enquiry followed up with a phone call.

8:52AM - 20 January 2017
Landlord
Bad

Have used this company for years but standards have gone downhill recently, renewal quotes have risen sharply, there is no secure area for viewing insurance documents, staff phone when in the middle of using their site and it's all got a bit amateur. Will look elsewhere next time.

Simply Business replied

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry you feel our standards have declined recently. As we are your broker, the renewal quote we send is with your existing insurer only, this is because we know that you have previously agreed to a contract with them. If there was an increase in the cost for the automated renewal, it may well have been due to a rate change from your insurer on the day the renewal quote was produced. We have no control over this pricing.

We do notify all customers prior to renewal by emailing 3 times. The first 2 emails are sent 30 days and 21 days before the renewal date informing of the renewal price and payment date. This does of course give an option to opt out of the process. We do understand this process may not work for all of our customers but this does avoid gaps in insurance.

When the policy is purchased, you are sent a secure link from where you can view/download/print all your policy documentation. This link is valid for 24 hours and if the link expires you can request a new link to be emailed to you.

I can confirm you have been removed from our automatic renewal process as requested.

Mark
Customer Solutions

8:30AM - 20 January 2017
Landlord
Good

As a company providing landlord insurance your renewal reminders and some of the paperwork would benefit from a re-think. Simple fact is as a landlord I have multiple properties, like many other landlords. Your reminders do not specify which property it is hence it costs my time looking into to which one you are referring to, is it possible to improve this situation?

8:28AM - 20 January 2017
Professional
Excellent

Phone support is excellent, I could achieve to change address, email and extend my insurance in a single short call. However call center waiting time is longer than industry average.

8:18AM - 20 January 2017
Landlord
Good

I haven't had any experience with you yet, just that you compared well to others companies on line . The testing time will be when I need to call with a problem or query ? But using your site was Good and easy to fill in . I'll happily revisit and give feedback when I really need your advice /help

8:06AM - 20 January 2017
Business
Excellent

Very efficient

7:17AM - 20 January 2017
Professional
Good

Very helpful

6:02AM - 20 January 2017
Landlord
Good

Service is good but very disappointed how large increase in premium. Will definitely look elsewhere if there is a similar one next year

3:15AM - 20 January 2017
Landlord
Excellent

They were really obliging and understood when I was not happy with the finer details of my first purchase. They helped me find a new insurer, cancel the one I bought yesterday, arranged for an immediate refund of the difference. It was so easy. They could explain in detail when I asked for clarification. They knew their facts and thought outside the box. They e-mailed me to renew a month in advance, and phoned to make sure I didn't pass the renewal date and go uninsured. They really did exceed my expectations. I was dealt with by the first person I spoke to.

10:47PM - 19 January 2017
Landlord
Excellent

Communication from the company was excellent, I compared the renewal quote and this came out on top.

9:23PM - 19 January 2017
Business
Excellent

Very happy with the service and quality of customer service.

6:27PM - 19 January 2017
Professional
Poor

Normally excellent, but i am unable to log in to my account so cannot view any of my policy documents so do not know if I'm insured correctly it just keeps hanging, its not my internet as i can get into every other document and database.

Simply Business replied

Thank you for your feedback.

When the policy is purchased, you are sent a link from where you can view/download/print all your policy documentation.

This link is valid for 24 hours and if the link expires you can request a new link to be emailed to you. There is no account as such to actually log in to see these details.

I have just re-sent you the link to access all your policy documentation.

Please also check your spam or junk folder as it can sometimes go directly into there. Any other queries please call 0333 014 6683 where we will be more than happy to assist you.

Mark
Customer Solutions

6:13PM - 19 January 2017
Professional
Poor

Not impressed by Simply Business:

- taking payment 8 days before the renewal date
- increasing my premium by 20% after another year with no claims
- not offering insurance cover for work in America
- not offering insurance cover for engineering control type work
- offering out-of-date insurance documents for download

Simply Business replied

Thank you for your feedback. We do notify all customers prior to renewal by emailing 3 times.

The first 2 emails are sent 30 days and 21 days before the renewal date informing of the renewal price and payment date.

This does of course give an option to opt out of the process. We do understand this process may not work for all of our customers but this does avoid gaps in insurance.

I can confirm these emails were sent to you. However, I do appreciate that emails can be easily missed or can be automatically sent to a spam or junk folder.

The payment is then taken 9 days before the renewal is due to start. The reason the payment is taken 9 days in advance is to make sure there are no issues with the payment details.
If there is, we will have enough time to make contact and resolve the payment issue, ensuring there is no lapse in cover.

Please let us know if you want to be removed from our automatic renewal process moving forward.

Mark
Customer Solutions

5:21PM - 19 January 2017
Landlord
Excellent

I just compared online but was still unsure of details, as it was late I did not ring the office. But was pleasantly surprised to receive a call within a few minutes to discuss the quotes. The adviser was very friendly and seemed knowledgeable, he went through things which I needed and before I knew it, the deal was done.